Not A Movie Review

I went to see La La Land as it was playing at a theater close to home.

I was dazzled by this flashy musical. It was complete with cheesy quips and references to  The Golden Age of Hollywood.  Classic Hollywood infused with a modern day twist  (Let’s not forget the Prius’) . It portrayed a nostalgic feeling for a time gone by struggling to be relevant today.

I have always loved old movies. I grew up watching Turner Classic Movies because I recall being fascinated by these old movies. I was always a peculiar child (still a peculiar adult)  and my taste in music, television and film was always different. Some of my favorite titles include: Casablanca, Guys and Dolls (Who doesn’t love Marlon Brando?), Daddy Long Legs, Singing in the Rain, An American in Paris, The Greatest Show On Earth, Ever After, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Harry Potter movies, The Star Wars Saga (I think you get the point! I’m everywhere and nowhere all at once).

Sitting in the theater watching this love story of dreamers brought a smile to my face.

I found myself being reminded  of the child like wonder I used to feel watching these big gaudy colorful numbers. It reminded me of  how I felt the first time I saw James Dean in Rebel Without A Cause, and how I swooned over Humphrey Bogart in Casablanca he tells Ingrid Bergman filled with stoic passion”If that plane leaves the ground and you’re not with him, you’ll regret it. Maybe not today. Maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.” (Where are those men? Oh yea, in the movies). There was something so simple and sincere about old Hollywood movies.

This got me thinking that maybe my ideas of life are a mix of old meets new. I  struggle to find some relevancy in an unfeeling world full of distracted people who don’t always appreciate my quirks.

Not everyone enjoys old movies and forget a musical, but I do. Movies filled with flashy dancing, songs about love, awe inspired moments of bliss that take you off into the stars floating through the clouds and have you skipping through your day humming those stupid love songs out loud.

Sometimes I forget I’m a dreamer, other times I avoid my dreams. Then there are moments when I am reminded of them, and watching La La Land reminded me that being a dreamer and quirky are part of who I am.

I want to break out into song and dance in the middle of my day, but since I can’t sing  I’ll just listen to my music and hum along until someone tells me to shut up. I’ll just open my eyes a little wider and view the world around me, and then maybe I’ll visit the stars a little more than I used to and find a place in the clouds to hang out and watch the world spin on its head.

Leave a Reply

