We Are Not Really There At All

I had an epiphany! I am going to delete Facebook. A few weeks ago I made this decision since I found myself spending way too much time scrolling through a news feed of irrelevant information; countless connections and intrusions into personal lives of people that I really did not know.  Then there was the FB façade because everyone is FB famous. So I made my way into the settings and deleted the account.

Then something great happened; I had a lot more time to do simple things. I noticed that those that matter didn’t mind and made sure they were able to connect with me. Those that were not part of my life were not impacted by my disappearance, and my life is not impacted by the loss either.  I am now connected more with those who are really a part of my life and I have more time to pay attention to the world.

I found myself spending way too much time scrolling through a news feed of irrelevant information; countless connections and intrusions into personal lives of people that I really did not know.  Then add into the mix the FB façade because everyone is FB famous. So I made the conscious decision to delete .social  Then something great happened; I had a lot more time to do simple things. I noticed that those that matter didn’t mind and made sure they were able to connect with me. Those that were not part of my life were not impacted by my disappearance, and my life is not impacted by the loss either.  I am now connected more with those who are really a part of my life and I have more time to pay attention to the world.

I have always had a good relationship with my children, but I noticed that as I got rid of FB my relationship with my kids has improved vastly. Now I am engaging them in even more conversations and surprisingly they are very talkative (I don’t think that they have figured out the correlation as to why Mommy is asking more and more questions, and why I am not on my phone as much). All too often, we pick up our devices when we are bored and when we are not bored even when there are others around us.

After I deleted my account I noticed that I didn’t miss the narcissistic self-love that is constantly promoted on social media. The instant gratification of our lives has ruined many aspects of human interaction.  No longer are we interacting with people on a personal level; instead, we are conversing with screens of light that hold our attention. We have lost the art of conversation and human interaction. Engaging with technology more than we do with one another. We really have lost that ability to connect with others.

When is the last you called someone and talked to them?

Today, people can evade personal conflict by typing out a message on a screen and effortlessly we are able to disregard emotions since we can hide behind a device. It is easy to avoid, ignore and block a person from your device; block lists on your phone, email, and social media accounts make it so that you never have to hear from that person again. Poof! They’re gone (it’s that easy to sever the line of communication).

You never have to think about your actions when you can block the repercussions from your phone.  You never have to explain anything or even answer for your behaviors, you don’t have to deal with the reality of your circumstances, and you can ignore that maybe you hurt someone. (PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! Remember that it is never okay to break up with someone in a text message.) Humanity is being transferred into emoticons and we are losing the importance of interaction. I much rather hear a voice on the other end and talk. Think about the time it takes to type out the message, make revisions, send the message, wait for delivery of the message, then the person has to open the message, then decide if they’re going to respond to the message, type out their message, send it and repeat ( I could have called you and gotten the answer in less time).

Am I guilty of engaging in such behaviors? Of course, I am, but I have become aware of what the problem is. We will never give up our technology but we can try to talk a little bit more with one another,  interact more with those around us. Get to know people and not the image they want you to see, make mistakes and learn from them. Get away from the device and live life a little more than you did today.

2 thoughts on “We Are Not Really There At All

Leave a Reply

