Thoughts On Poetry

This post was inspired by my cousin who hates poetry because he does not want to look for meaning in anything! He doesn’t have to like poetry but by golly gum drops he will learn to appreciate it! (Insert higher power reference here) as my witness! You will learn to appreciate POEMS! (Waving fist maniacally in the air!) 

I enjoy poetry! for most people though it is a dreaded piece of literature. The rhyming nature, a haiku, and epics that charge on through the literary world with alliterations and an onomatopoeia or two, stanzas and lines; even the language  of poetry is too much sometimes, but the beauty of poetry  is that is can be anything you want it to be.

A bird takes flight.

The love you once lost.

That dark night’s noise.

Manifested into words that leap from the mind. Poetry makes you rhyme.

Poetry is more than just rhyming words. Albeit, I find it easier to write in rhymes (well at least I think I rhyme) than free verse. I admire free verse poets. They’re just the bee’s knees and the cat’s meow!

Love it or hate it poetry serves a purpose to writers. It allows you to explore the depths of your writing or it can serve as a release for the sheer utter nonsensical thoughts that might arise about an ice cream cone. It is not constricted by the rules of grammar; it is liberty in expression—freedom from the rules that on occasion box you in. Sometimes, a period simply doesn’t fit because the thought is never complete; it’s meant to hang there in time and make you think. You might think this was great or this really sucked, you might infer a deeper meaning into the words but the lines will make you think.

Poetry gets a bad rap and it shouldn’t.

Why do you think angsty (yes! not the proper use of this word, but that’s fine no need for the rules to apply.) teenagers love writing melodramatic verses of their existential lives:

Whoa me! It’s so hard
My life, it really sucks so bad
Mom said: “clean your room.”

The pain and dissonance that comes forth in haiku, because mom said: “clean your room.”

Or…

If love sends you on trip
Send me to the far side of the moon
Rockets fly
As I will glide
Through the stars
And in the air
As love sends me on a trip
In a little rocket ship.

OK, that was cheesy! But hey I just made it up to prove a point and that last line’s a reference which parents should know.

<< Trap Remix

So let us not be so disparaging about poetry and embrace the power of prose and explore the freedom of writing through verse. Poetry is fun, poetry is serious, whatever you make it poetry is yours!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On Poetry

  1. I’m intrigued by the implicit invitation here to think about the differences between prose and poetry.The dictionary says “prose” is written or spoken language in its ordinary form without metrical structure. I agree with you that a poem is not necessarily a fully rhymed sequence of lines in a distinctly recognizable metric structure (that is, meter, such as iambic pentameter). I’m not ready to agree that a poem can be “anything you want…”
    I think a basic concept of poetry has to include brevity on some scale, clarity of language and meaning, and imagination or introspection or speculation that distinguishes the writing from mundane declarative sentences.
    I’ll paraphrase Edgar Allan Poe: a long “poem” isn’t really a poem.
    I try to write each of my poems in a way that makes it possible the reader to know, as precisely as possible, what’s going on in my mind and in my imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that there is a freedom in expression with poetry and that allows it to be anything you want. You write poems in a different manner than I do. I enjoy your poems but I cannot write in the same manner that you do. So our versions of poetry are unique to our own voices, making our poems what we want them to be. I do agree “a long ‘poem’ isn’t really a poem” all the time. I have read some poetry and I am not intrigued but then I read some poems and I am extremely impressed. Oddly enough as I read your response my daughter is explaining her own version of Tell Tale Heart, complete with thumping sounds. Edgar Allan Poe is a favorite in my home.

      Like

Leave a Reply

