Liebster Award

Thank you very much to K.D. Dowdall for nominating me for the Liebster Award! I am humbled to be recognized by other bloggers. Please visit K.D. Dowdall at: https://karendowdall.com/  and you will find a beautifully written and thoughtful blog.

The Rules:

  • Say thank you to the person who nominated you for the award.
  • Answer the 11 questions you have been asked.
  • Nominate and notify 11 bloggers for the award.
  • Ask those you have nominated 11 questions.

The Questions:

  1. Why did you choose book blogging over something else?

It came at the suggestion of my English Professor Charles French. He kept suggesting it and one day I decided to try it!

  1. What is one thing you’re really passionate about beside books?

My daughters and education. These two go hand in hand. I noticed that there was a clear difference in the education they received when we lived in a poor neighborhood vs. when we moved into a township. I made the decision to move so that my children can attend a better school. The funny thing is that these schools were in the same school district one school served a poor neighborhood and the other didn’t. These schools were also less than a mile away from each other. So I tell everyone who will listen about what I experienced because it is my ultimate belief that education is the most important equalizer we have as a society and when school in the same district provide different education based on resources then I believe that is a problem.

  1. Have your reading tastes changed over the years?

I guess they have but I am not really sure.

  1. What is your favorite vacation spot?

Vacation? Me… I am way over due for one.

  1. Do you collect anything (other than books)?

Yarn, I crochet. I buy yarn because in my mind I am going to make a new hat or a pair of gloves with the beautiful yarn I see in front of me. I have several projects started but they are all put away for the summer.

  1. What has been your favorite book so far this year?

Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafon, a magical book that sweeps you away into the pages. There are books and then there are books. This is the latter the vivid imagery and connection to the this story made this one of those books that will remain with me forever. I loved it so much I picked up the Spanish copy to read it and two more of his books.

  1. What is one law you would change if you could?

When I am President I will let you know the answer to this.

  1. If you had to donate money to a charity, which one would you choose?

Honestly, I would start my own.

  1. What is your favorite genre to read?

Anything Ray Bradbury, I like historical fiction, science-fiction and… Books, books are my favorite genre to read.

  1. 1 What is your dream car?

Well, I had my dream car until the accident so now I just want a good car with all-wheel drive winters are brutal some years.

  1. What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?

Well, after many years I would say completing my degree is one of those accomplishments. I recently just finished my BA this year, which is exciting after the many years of part-time school, full-time work and raising children I received Latin honors of Cum Laude, although I curse my final A-, which stood between me and my Magna. Other than that, my daughters are my biggest accomplishment, they never cease to amaze me. Sometimes they speak and leave me in awe because they really do pay attention and they really are taking in more than I thought they were.  Although, the world needs to be forewarned they really are like their mother.

They are my  yin-yang, as if one of me wasn’t enough for the world.

My nominees:

I don’t have any this time around. Those I wanted to nominate have the award already or have it listed that they are an award free blog but here are a few of my favs for you to check out

https://mirissaprice.wordpress.com/

https://comicallyquirky.com/

https://karendowdall.com/

https://theagingsub.wordpress.com/

https://charlesfrenchonwordsreadingandwriting.wordpress.com/

6 thoughts on “Liebster Award

    1. Thank you so much! You know I really look forward to seeing your name pop up in my notifications because you’re like a written ray of sunshine… but your light are the words you write! 🙂 thank you! P.S. I haven’t been on the blog much lately but I do thoroughly enjoy reading your blog!

      Like

      1. Hello Delia, Thank you, you made my day with your caring comments, what lovely compliments…and I do take them to heart! Thank you so much. Life does get so busy, doesn’t. Your story about how you managed working, taking care of your daughters, and getting A’s in college is exactly what I did too. I had two young daughters at the time, divorced, working as a nurse, and going to college to get a Bachelor’s, a Master’s and eventually a PhD. It takes heroic dedication to do all of it, zero social life, and come out in one piece. Yet, through it all, it makes all the difference for your daughters, because my daughters are college graduates, one has a Master’s degree as a Speech Language Pathologist, and the other is now working on her Master’s in finance. You will have no regrets. Karen 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

