Slow Days

There are some days that just drag on and on without any end in sight.

Is this statement dramatic? YUP! After all I am permitted, on occasion, to be extreme. What would life be without sporadic embellishments?

I am consumed by, well — at the moment nothing. I oft think about everything all at once with no end in sight. Typically, my mind runs off creating a series of many things while trying to maintain some semblance of sanity through the chaos.

As of late my mind is quiet.

The storm has quieted, quit, left, dispersed even.

The days seem slower and a little longer, but before I know it—it’s tomorrow.

Slow but quick —this my friends is what I am going to call an oxymoron-juxtaposing-phrase! And that is how I am quantifying the whole of my existences at the moment. The day goes on and then, changes with the blink of an eye, but continuously drags throughout time.

This too shall pass.

All things in life pass, everything changes , nothing is ever as it was before. Slow days pass too, they become fleeting moments when least expected.

Now, don’t get me wrong I rather enjoy this slow pace and thoughtless mind.

There was  a point in my life I was constantly on the go. Always doing something, running my kids here and there and I kept busy, so busy that I stressed myself out. That is the routine that all of us are trained to adhere to.  I was convinced that my life was supposed to be like that. I think we all think that we are supposed to be so busy that you should never have free time.

Somehow we believe that free time is bad.

I realize now that free time is what we all need. Slow days give you time to realize that our lives are insignificant fleeting moments in time. We should not waste the moments pretending, analyzing, rushing around, scheduling time with friend and overworking ourselves into the ground.

Be happy, silly, immature and love those who mean something to you because, in the end, we are all worm food. It does not matter if your casket is made of solid gold or a wooden box eventually your flesh will rot away and so will mine.

One day I will slowly return to the Earth and I don’t want to do so overworked and stressed. I want to know that I slowed down just enough to watch my daughters grow and laugh with them. I want to keep building memories with those who mean something to me and I am going to create my own way against the current of popular belief.

Enjoy every slow day you get!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Slow Days

  1. Yes – you got it! I recently came to realization that I need to take it slow too. Somehow society thought it would be great for everyone to work their lives away. We need to break the mold.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

